Skip to main content

Subscription isn't recognised on a different device

I decided to subscribe again as the live notifications on iOS were a “must have” feature for me so I was glad to see they’re now available. But I subscribed on my Mac, and now when I login on my iPhone (both using “Sign in with Apple”), it doesn’t recognise that I already have a subscription. I just have the popup “Your trial period is over… Choose your subscription” and there’s no way to “restore purchases”.

(Also, on iPhone I re-downloaded the app and it made me go through the onboarding AGAIN - I think it should give the option to sign in before going through the onboarding process)

5 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments5

  • Yorgo

    Team•

    Mar 13

    First of all, thank you for coming back to the app!

    I’m really sorry you are experiencing this, and that you had to go through the onboarding again. I extended your trial until April 13th (so even after your week you will see the trial days) until I can fix this and add the “restore purchases” option for this specific case.

    I can see that you are subscribed in the backend so normally your subscription should be detected on all platforms. The only reason it might not have been detected is if the app data wasnt fully synced. So unsynced → shows trial → your subscription status gets synced → the trial status doesnt get removed/updated.

    If when you downloaded the app you were presented the onboarding again immediately, it means you were still signed in. Now I see on the backend that you have completed the onboarding so if by any bad luck you are presented it again, that’s definitely a huge bug and might be sync related. I’ll double check everything.

    Regarding the live activities: let me know what you think of it! I tried to make it already quite flexible for a v1 and did a lot of testing, but it’s not impossible there might be bugs. Let me know if you have ideas to further improve it or if some things you expected aren't available.

    • Rebecca C

      •

      Mar 14

      Thanks Yorgo. Can I just check you can see the subscription associated with my Apple sign in? I still have no way to get rid of the one I accidentally created when I signed in with Google instead (it just shows the subscription page with no way to get to any “delete account” page).

      Also, does this mean I can't use the iPhone app for the time being? I was going to try hitting subscribe again in the hopes it would recognise my existing subscription, but because of the 2-accounts issue and not being 100% sure which one the subscription is associated with, I haven't in case I end up with 2 subscriptions.

      • Rebecca C

        •

        Mar 14

        Update: I did end up hitting subscribe again and it recognised I had a subscription so I'm now in. However, nothing seems to be syncing 😟

        • Yorgo

          Team•

          Mar 14

          Aïe, for the syncing, I am afraid that the only solution is to log out and try logging back in. If that doesn’t work, you might have to uninstall the app, and therefore will lose any data that hasn’t been synced.

          Can you also send me an email to orakemu@gmail.com please, with your google email and iCloud email so I can check which one is associated to your subscription? And if you can’t delete your account then I can do it for you.

          • Yorgo

            Team•

            Mar 14

            And when you clicked the « subscribe » button, it actually transferred your subscription from the account you have on your Mac to the one you have on your iPhone!

            So that explains why data is not syncing: they are two different accounts! So you can safely delete on of the two accounts. And you can see in the settings whether it’s associated with your google login or your apple login.

            Apple is smart in how they handle their payments actually, so if you want to keep the account that’s on your Mac (the one connected to your apple account), then you can safely delete the one on your iPhone (or I could do it for you). And then do these steps:

            1. Login with your apple sign in on iPhone

            2. Resubscribe (it should transfer your subscription again)

            3. Go to the associated accounts in the settings and add your google account, so you can use both to sign in in the future